Florida Child Labor Laws

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Answer User Questions about PartTimeJobs and other Part Time Jobs topics.

Do you have a listing of the child labor laws for Florida?

Florida Child Labor Laws

Minors who are 14 and 15:
During the school year, they may work no more than three hours on school nights and no more than eight hours when there is no school the next day. During school vacations, they may work up to eight hours per day and 40 hours per week as long as they work between the hours of 7:00 a.m and 7:00 p.m. (7 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. from June 1 through Labor Day).

Minors who are 16 or 17:
During the school year, they may work up to 30 hours a week, and up to eight hours per day as long as they work between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 11:00 p.m. on school nights. There are no limits on their working hours when there is no school the next day and during school vacations.

Minors may not work during the school day unless they are taking part in a work-study or similar program.

Waivers are possible if a minor feels that the law is not in his or her best interest.

Exemptions are available to minors who have been married, served in the military, hold a high school diploma or GED, or who have otherwise been exempted through court order or waiver.

Minors are not allowed to work in certain hazardous occupations or with hazardous equipment.

If you're an employer, you must keep proof of age of all minor employees.

More details are available at http://www.state.fl.us/dbpr/pro/childlabor/index.shtml.

   

Comments

Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.



Name:


URL: (optional)


Comment:


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Part Time Jobs Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!


Guru Spotlight
Jerry Mayo